What is the difference between Incognito Window and Guest Window in Google Chrome Browser?
Chrome has been always a versatile browsing window, delivering appealing apps, features, and timely updates often. Apart from these, it gives you fair enough options to maintain private browsing, an essential feature that’s being already incorporated by many other browsers. Google Chrome introduced the profile switcher, wherein the user can switch over instantly amidst different accounts. In addition, apart from basic browsing, there are two significant browsing modes or windows that are offered by Chrome, something like ‘temporary browsing’. These are referred to as Guest Mode and Incognito Mode. In short, users that are making use of Guest Window, are restricted from accessing the private or primary user’s history. Other is the Incognito window which permits the primary user to browse but doesn’t store browsing history. Incognito, literally meaning undercover proves to be essential in many ways.
Let’s discuss both the windows in brief:
Chrome Guest Window
User working in the guest window doesn’t have any right to alter chrome settings. Though the user can change settings of default search engine that too for its own Guest Window. Moreover, such a user is restricted from accessing the browsing history of the primary user. The Guest window acts as a single session profile window. Once the user opens it’s a new session is created, after the user closes the window, the session is destroyed, all of the data of that particular user is deleted.
- An Outline of Guest Window
- Provides a blank profile for a non-primary user
- None of the users browsing history is recorded or saved
- Doesn’t make use of any extensions
Chrome Incognito Window
Alternatively and commonly known as In Private Mode or Private Browsing, the Incognito window provides a private mode to the user for browsing the web, without saving the browsing or history details. It’s like you are working altogether in a new window which is accessing the Internet for the first time. It doesn’t have any backlog of cookies. On closing the Incognito window, the session is destroyed along with all the information. Moreover, when in Incognito mode, the browser extensions are disabled, allowing you to watch over if any add-on is becoming troublesome for a website.
Going Incognito can also be beneficial in cases when you are accessing the public or your friend’s computer. You can log into your personal social networking account or your mail accounts without leaving a trace of your browsing history once you exit from Incognito. Though you don’t go invisible when browsing under Incognito.
An outline of Incognito Window
- Users browsing history is not recorded
- No saving of cookies and site data
- All downloaded files and bookmarks created are retained
- Visited websites, employers, and your ISP (Internet Service Provider) can view your activities.
To sum up, you can go Incognito when you just need to perform browsing without allowing any of your private data to be recorded. Whereas Guest Window will allow you or someone else on your computer to safely browse sites without recording browsing history at the same time preventing the user to fiddle with any of the Chrome settings.